Shared UI libraries for your prototyping tool
In Justinmind prototyping tool, you can share UI libraries with your team in just a few clicks.
The same online platform that stores your prototypes will also store and distribute your libraries in the cloud or on your own servers.
You must be logged into a Justinmind Enterprise online account in order to use any of the ‘Shared widgets’ functionalities. If you’re not already connected, click on ‘Sign In’ in the top right-hand corner of your screen and enter your email and password to connect to your account.
When you’re correctly signed in, all the libraries from your accounts will be retrieved from the server and shown in the ‘My Libraries’ tab in the ‘Manage Widget Libraries’ pop up, which comes up when you click on the widget library icon in the Widgets panel.
Once the libraries have been added to the Widgets panel in Justinmind, you will be able to access all the main functionalities through the menu that appears when you click on the gear icon next to the library’s name. To share your widget library, right-click on the icon and select ‘Share’.
Use the ‘Clear data‘ option you will find in File -> Preferences -> Justinmind account if you want to clear all the retrieved shared libraries or if you want to log in with a different user. You can only synchronize Justinmind editor with one online account. Logging in with a different user will lead to a loss of all the local stored data related to the previous user.
Shared widget libraries can be created, used, modified or deleted through the different controls provided: general controls and library controls.
To create a new shared widget library, click on the option ‘Widgets->New Widget Library‘ in the main menu, introduce a name for the new library in the dialog and click ‘Ok’. Once a new library is created, it will be shown up as empty, and in edit mode. This library will be only seen by you and only stored locally in you computer until you ‘Share’ it by clicking on the gear icon and choosing ‘Share’.
After creating and editing your own shared widget libraries, you may want to commit all your changes to your account so all the users who have publishing rights in your account can see them. In order to commit all your local changes at once, click on the option ‘Widgets->Commit all shared libraries‘ of the main menu. You can also perform individual commits if you only want to commit the changes of a specific library. To perform a library commit, see the commit option in the Library controls below.
The users who want to see your modifications will have to perform an ‘Update’ of their shared libraries. The option ‘Update all shared libraries’ located in the main menu ‘Widgets->Update all shared libraries‘ allows you to update all the shared libraries at once, retrieving all the new libraries and changes from the server. This option may also remove some of you current synchronized libraries if they have been deleted by their owner or you lost the rights to their related account.
The general operations regarding Shared widget libraries can be found in the main menu ‘Widgets->Add/Remove libraries‘ under the My Libraries tab, when connected to your account.
All the share options are grouped in a single drop-down menu item. This menu will always display the same options but they will be enabled or disabled depending on the privileges you have over the current library. To access the drop down menu, you have to click on the ‘gear’ icon next to the library’s name and hover over ‘Share Options’.
- Exit Edit Content: switch from being able to edit the library to not being able to. When not in edit mode, this button sets the edit mode on.
- Edit Name/Description: the pop-up that comes up when creating will let you change both the name and the description of the library
- New Group: creates a new group of widgets so you can keep them organized
- Commit: uploads all the local changes performed in the current library to the server
- Revert changes: revert all the changes performed to the current library since the last commit
- Unshare: deletes the library from the server and on the other users’ computers
- Delete library: deletes the current library locally and from the server
All the operations above are available to the library’s owner. The Update operation is available to non-owners and it lets users update the current library by retrieving all the changes from the server since the last update.
The library controls (Modify, Commit, Update, Discard changes and Delete) will also be enabled or disabled depending on the privileges the current logged user has over the library being shown. All these operations will only perform changes locally and they will not be shared until you decide to commit them.