How to work on Shared Prototypes with your team
Sharing a prototype with other users will let you work on a prototype as a team. It is the best way to handle big and complex projects while saving time and increasing your productivity.
Prototypes’ editing permissions can be managed in a simple interface, so a prototype’s owner will always have control over who’s editing the prototype.
With this feature you can also keep track of your prototypes’ history. Every prototype’s change uploaded to the server will be stored, allowing you to restore your prototype’s state at a particular moment in time whenever you need it.
You will require a Justinmind online account to access the platform that stores all your Shared prototypes as well as their revisions. Connection to this online service is essential in every ‘share’ operation. However, one may be able to work offline on a Shared prototype and share the changes once connection is restored.
There are a few concepts the user must be familiar with in order to fully understand how to work with a Shared prototype.
- Shared Prototype: This is the name given to a prototype when it is already uploaded online and shared for editing. When a prototype is shared, it’s possible to make some specific operations with it, such as ‘Commit changes’, ‘Update’, ‘Lock’ etc., which require an Internet connection. Each Shared prototype has a list of users who have permission to edit it.
- Prototype users: They are users (who already have a Justinmind online account) who can edit the prototype. They are invited to edit a prototype by its owner.
- Prototype owner: The prototype owner is the user who has uploaded and shared the prototype. As a prototype user, he can edit the prototype like the others, but he also has some extra privileges:
– Can invite or uninvite users to edit the prototype.
– Can rename the prototype.
– Can delete the prototype from the server.
The owner of a prototype can be changed by the owner of the account where it has been uploaded.
When working on a Shared prototype, there are some basic operations you must fully understand: lock/unlock, commit, update and discard changes.
- Lock/Unlock: The main difference between a non-shared prototype and a shared prototype is that in the latter prototype elements (screens, templates, masters, etc.) must be locked before being edited. Locking an element allows you to restrict its access so you will be the only one with permission to edit it until you unlock it again. Elements can only be locked by one single user at a time. Just remember to unlock them once edited so other users can modify them if necessary.
- Commit: When modifying elements of a Shared prototype, all the changes are stored locally in your computer. It is not until you perform the Commit operation that all these changes are uploaded to the server so everyone else can see them.
- Update: This operation downloads any changes made in the current Shared prototype by other users, and makes sure that you have the last version everyone is working on. The update operation will be requested to you automatically if changes are found in the server.
- Discard changes: This operation deletes your local changes and gets a new copy of the Shared prototype from the server.