Learn how to prototype web and mobile apps

Basic operations in your Shared Prototypes

When working with Shared prototypes, it’s necessary to understand some basic operations.

Share Prototype

Sharing a prototype is the very first operation you need to perform to start working with a team on the same prototype. This operation will upload the prototype to the online server (or on your own servers with Justinmind Enterprise) and will let you invite people to edit it.

There are two ways to share a prototype:

1. Share an empty prototype

If you want to start collaborating on a prototype from scratch, go to File menu and select New->Shared Prototype. A new empty prototype will be created and immediately uploaded and shared with the people you select.

2. Share currently opened prototype

If you want to share a local project you have been working on, first open it and then go to Share menu and select Share prototype.

When the ‘share’ option is selected, you will be required to enter a name for the new Shared prototype. This name will be the one that identifies the prototype in the server, hence it will be the name every other user with permission will see before opening it.

In addition, if you have publishing permission to more than one online account, you will also be required to indicate the account where you want to upload the prototype to.

Click the button ‘Share’ to upload the prototype to the server.Justinmind Teamwork - How to share a prototype

Once the prototype is uploaded, you will be asked to invite users so they can open and edit this prototype. For more information about how to invite users, see the Advanced Operations tutorial.

The user who shares a prototype will automatically become the prototype’s owner.

Open Shared Prototype

If you want to work on a Shared prototype you have been invited to, or on your own, you first need to open it. However, since a Shared prototype has no physical file associated, you need to use a specific open operation.

You will find this operation in the File menu or the Teamwork menu.

To open a Shared prototype, do the following:

  1. Select the option ‘Open Shared Prototype…’ from the menu.
  2. A list of all Shared prototypes you have access to will be displayed in a dialog (1). When you select the prototype, on the right side panel you will see the information related to it (2). If you can read “(Local copy)” (3) next to a prototype’s name, this means that the prototype has already been opened and may contain local changes. If there’s a local copy, it also means you can work offline with it.
  3. Select the prototype you want to open and click on ‘OK’.

Lock/Unlock elements

When working on a Shared prototype, some extra controls are provided.

First of all, all basic prototype elements come with a ‘Lock/Unlock’ indicator. This is the case for:

Screens, Templates, Masters, Data Masters, Variables, Scenarios and Comments

The ‘Lock/Unlock’ indicator is usually displayed on the left side of each element. The ‘Lock/Unlock’ state is indicated with a padlock image:The Justinmind Editor environement - Locked/Unlocked Screens

Lock/Unlock elements

Locking a shared prototype’s element is a required operation if you want to edit it. Elements of a shared prototype can be locked and unlocked by prototype’s users, and each element can only be locked by one user at a time.


There are two ways to lock a prototype’s element:

The most direct way to do it is simply by editing the element. When editing an element of a shared prototype that is not locked by you, you will be required to lock it first:
Lock/Unlock operation in Shared prototypes

If you select the checkbox ‘Lock automatically’, this message will not appear again and Justinmind will lock the elements automatically if needed. Automatic lock can also be enabled or disabled in Application Preferences.

Another way to lock elements is through their contextual menu. Open the contextual menu of the element you want to edit and select the option ‘Lock’.


You can only unlock elements that are currently locked by you. In order to unlock an element, open the element’s contextual menu and click on ‘Unlock’. If the element you are unlocking has some local changes you did not commit, you will be requested to decide what to do with these changes: you can either commit them or discard them.

Unlock operation in Shared prototypes

Once edited and saved, we recommend unlocking the elements so other users can edit them too. 

See ‘Commit’ and ‘Discard’ operations for more information.

TipIf you are the owner of a shared prototype, you also have the power to unlock the elements someone else has locked. In order to do so, just uninvite the user who is holding the elements through the operation ‘Add/Remove users’. Elements will be unlocked but the user will lose his local changes!

View locked elements

When working on a shared prototype, elements are locked by users in order to edit them. It may be useful sometimes to know who has locked each element in the current shared prototype. To view all the currently locked elements, go to Teamwork menu and select ‘View locked elements’. A list of all the locked elements (1) and information about the user who is locking them will be displayed in a dialog. More specifically, you’ll be able to see the name of the locked element (2), the type of the locked element (3) and the name of the online user who has the element locked (4).View locked elements in shared prototypes


The ‘Commit’ operation allows you to share your prototype’s modifications with others. It will upload the local changes you have stored in your computer to the server. Once the changes are committed, every other user working on this prototype will be able to get them through the ‘Update’ operation.

There are two ways to commit your local changes:

Commit All

You can commit all the local changes you have made in your prototype at once. In order to upload these changes, go to ‘Teamwork’ menu and select ‘Commit All’.

When ‘Commit’ is executed, a dialog will pop up displaying a list of all the changes that will are going to be uploaded (1), the type of change, or Action (2), the type (3) and the name (4) of the element affected by the change, and a box to introduce comments (5):Commit Operations in shared prototypes

Click on ‘Ok’ to perform the operation, or click ‘Cancel’ if you do not want to commit the displayed changes.

Individual Commit

You can commit only the local changes you have made in a single element of your prototype. In order to commit only these changes, open the element’s contextual menu and select ‘Commit’.

When committing changes of a single element, you may be requested to commit other elements that strongly depend on the first one. Dependant elements will be shown in a dialog before the ‘Commit’ is performed.


The ‘Update’ operation needs to be executed in order to implement the changes that other users have committed. Note that one single update may affect several prototype elements at once.

To update your prototype, go to ‘Teamwork’ menu and select ‘Update all’. If the update is successfully completed, a dialog will pop up confirming that all the changes that have been applied to the current prototype. More specifically, the dialog box will show:

1) A list of all the revisions that have been downloaded and applied to the prototype. Each revision is a ‘Commit’.

2) The number of the revision. This number identifies a ‘Commit’ within a shared prototype.

3) The date and time of the revision.

4) The name of the user who performed the ‘Commit’

5) Any comments added to the ‘Commit’ operation.

6) List of all the changes that have been applied to the prototype for the revision selected in the listUpdate prototypes in shared operations


When working on a shared prototype, you can always discard the local changes you have made to it. Discarding local changes means ignoring all the changes made after the last commit. Hence, your prototype’s state will be reverted to the state it had just after your latest commit.

As with the commit, the discard operation can be executed for the whole project or individually for each element:


To discard all the changes made to the prototype, go to ‘Teamwork’ and select ‘Discard all changes’.

Individual discard

To discard only the changes of one element of the prototype, open the element’s contextual menu and select ‘Discard changes’.

Next tutorial > Add and remove users from Shared Prototypes