Crashed and no prototype to recover

Chris shared this problem 4 months ago
In Progress

I have Autosave every 10 minutes turned on. Justinmind crashed, there is no Recovery File to be found and I have lost 4 hours of work. It apparently hasn't been autosaving.


There is no folder named last_version on my Mac, High Sierra.

Files: logs.log

Comments (5)

photo
1

Hi Chris,

We are very sorry about that! Can you try going to File -> Recover prototype and see if you can find the file there? You can also find other backups by going to Macintosh HD -> Users -> Your user -> Justinmind -> version -> backups.

photo
1

I did that, both Recover: nothing displays, and the backups in Justinmind are old. That's why I filed the ticket. Autosave is activated but it is not autosaving.

photo
1

Do you have a backup made lately from other projects? If possible, can you take a screenshot of your backups’ folder? (/Users/[youruser]/Justinmind/8.4.1/backups/project_Utility 4.2 Prototype/)

photo
1

We determined the problem: Your UI will display a checked box for Autosave and a value for how many backups to save, but unless a user clicks the "Apply" button, it doesn't take effect. I and my manager are both UX professionals and this wasn't obvious to us. When you see a checkbox checked and a value in a field when opening preferences, we thought it was activated, and that only needed to click Apply if we had changed the values. Perhaps this is something that could be made more obvious in the UI.


On the subject of backups, we are concerned that even if we set a larger number, like 10, and they occur multiple times a day, when the limit is reached there are no more backups. Not like Time Machine, for example, where when runs out of room, deletes oldest backups. So if a user doesn't manually go into the backup folder and remove old versions, Auto Backup will also fail (unless I am misunderstanding). The reason I only had backups from 3 weeks prior was that I had set the number to 3 and I had 3 backups. This is a serious user issue, please escalate this to your engineering team.

Thank you.

photo
1

The backup number set in preferences is the maximum number of backups we store simultaneously, not a fixed limit. When the maximum number of backups is reached, the next backup will be saved and then, we’ll erase the oldest one in the folder to maintain the maximum value of backups set in preferences.

Normally, this should be done automatically and users should never have to access the backups folder as it is managed internally using a format and timestamp for each file stored in there. If users store their own files in there, it's possible that the backups would not work properly, as it could be the case. In each of the backups folder there should only be the prototypes saved by the backup system and respecting the accepted format.

If you include a screenshot of your backups folder we could help determine if that's the case.

Did backups begin working for you when you removed the older files in the folder?

photo