justinmind-logo

Upvote 1

JustInMind Datamaster Help

Answered Cameron Muckley 6 years ago

I have a DataMaster of Users which contains their Photo, First Name, Last Name and then information about their profile. In my Data list where you are able to view the Users it will show their Photo and First Name and I have been able to set a Variable of currentName ect to being the data in the CurrentRow but I wish to be able to either do one of two things

1. Set a variable to the Row and be able to access the information such as currentUser.FirstName

2. Be able to filter out one of the entries in the Data Master to set variables such as currentFirst, currentPhoto (Which I can do currently as they are in the DataList) but also be able to set a variable to parts of the User that isn't shown in my Datalist.

Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

Best Answer
photo

The way I would do what you I believe you are trying to achieve is by adding an "id" field to the data master and giving each record a unique id value. Then, in the data list (I typically use data grids), include the "id" field, but keep it hidden. This enables you to access each record by it's id and grab whichever fields for a specific record you want.

I don't know how you are selecting/determining the "current" record, but I get the field values of a particular record by including a hotspot in each record and attaching events to that hotspot. My first event sets a variable named "currently_selected_record_id" to the id of the record associated with the hotspot. Additional events then use that variable to "FILTER" the data master for the record and to "SELECT" each of the specific individual field values I want.