Comments are deleted when you publish a new version?

Daniel Tomás Tarragó shared this question 7 years ago
Answered

The comments are deleted when you publish a new version?? I've done it and the old comments can't be viewed in the new version of prototype. It's a problem because maybe you want to fix something that it's said in a comment and now you can't comment anymore.

Comments (11)

photo
1

The comments that are published are the ones you have in your .vp file. So if you want to maintain the old comment you have to download them first and import them in Prototyper. Use the 'download comments' action inside the 'Actions' menu in Usernote. It's true though that it may cause confusion and we will work to make it more clear.

photo
1

Ok thank you, it's very easy, the next time I'll do it, but for newbies in the app


maybe an alert may help to avoid lost comments.


Another question/suggestion for the app about comments: It's possible to receive alerts in your mail when a reviewer post a new comment?


I think can be very useful because if you're working with your desktop app you don't know if somebody comments anything.

photo
1

Either the email notification and the thing about maintaining the comments when you upload a new version of your prototype are planned for the next release of Usernote. Thanks!

photo
1

I agree completely. The comments tool i a good idea, but the syncing is not too smooth. Idea when that new version is due?

photo
1

I just tried this in 4.5 Pro. I made a comment in Usernote, then replace the project from JIM. The comment is gone.


To me, it seems that each object should have an ID of some kind, and the comments would be threaded in a database with the ID as the Foreign Key, so since most of the ObjectIDs shouldn't change in a typical Replace, they should attach to the same ObjectID (and therefore, object), in the Replaced version.


So why do they get deleted?


Please see also my Idea about allowing use of a standard forum system to capture comments. There are all kinds of benefits...rating, voting, karma, etc.


But yeah, a simple comparison and a sync feature would go a long way, and offering the user a chance to sync comments before a Replace seems like a good step.


Thanks!

photo
1

I know this is an old post, but I just uploaded a new version and lost all my comments. Any way to retrieve it?

photo
1

When you replace a version, Prototyper asks if you want to sync the comments. What version of Prototyper are you using? I believe we added that option since version 5.

photo
1

5.5.0


Also just noticed that my original project with the comments is gone from the website. It only shows the last three versions I uploaded in this folder.

photo
1

Hi Thomas,


I've checked your account and there is only one prototype SMV Mockup1_with comments and has 7 comments. Is that it?

photo
1

I originally uploaded a prototype last week which was just called SMV Mockup1. But after I realized I lost the comments on a subsequent upload, I added the 7 comments to my prototype (from memory based on last week) and uploaded that as SMV Mockup1_with comments.


Now I don't see the original prototype which was just called SMV Mockup1

photo
1

If you use 5.5 there shouldn't be a way to delete the comments unless you delete or upload the prototype from the Usernote's interface instead of using the Replace version option inside Prototyper.